I’m just speechless. I have nothing to say that has not already been said. This link was passed on to me and I am just recording this because it needs to be preserved

Uhuh. As opposed to the Elevator Guy incident which was an affair that did not get inflated into absurdity by the misandrists enlightened feminist movement. How could everyone have so readily misread Becky’s intent?

.

Rebecca Watson, The Dawkins Delusion

So many of you voiced what I had already been thinking: that this person who I always admired for his intelligence and compassion does not care about my experiences as an atheist woman and therefore will no longer be rewarded with my money, my praise, or my attention. I will no longer recommend his books to others, buy them as presents, or buy them for my own library. I will not attend his lectures or recommend that others do the same.

This is what is there now. Who knows to what extent this has been redacted and modified since the original version. I was naive back then and did not appreciate the full extent of the revisionism and reality modification that Watsonistas indulge in, as naturally as breathing, as I do now, so I did not capture the original. The current version also includes this very much after-the-fact addition –

PPPS: Nope, I didn’t call for a boycott. I’m relaying the fact that I have no interest in giving this person any more of my money or attention. Other people have independently told me they’re doing the same. This is not an organized campaign, and no one is going to be vilified for continuing to give their own time and attention to Dawkins.

Reality Modification 101. This is more a damage control exercise than anything else though – after getting an enormous backlash, even from die-hard Watsonistas, for essentially wanting to set up her own list of prohibited reading (to stand side by side with Myers blacklists of known dissidents). It is the response of the expedient. Becky knows full well there was no innocence or ambiguity about her initial calls for retribution.

I find it impossible to even milk any humour from this – that’s how genuinely, pit-of-the-stomach nauseating it is.

Secularism 2011 – nepotic sycophancy and nothing more.